Auglaize County celebrates 175th anniversary today

Residents of Auglaize County are encouraged to rejoice today, as the Auglaize County Historical Society is planning to hold several celebrations for the county’s 175th anniversary.

The Auglaize County Historical Society is encouraging people to celebrate today by eating cake and sending a picture to Many groups associated with the society will also be handing out cake that day from 11:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., which include the Auglaize County Courthouse, St. Marys Community Public Library, New Bremen Public Library, the Stallo Memorial Library in Minster, the Waynesfield Public Library, Cridersville Public Library, St. Marys Chamber of Commerce and the Uniopolis Post Office.

Local churches are also expected to ring their bells starting at around noon for 175 seconds, along with any other building with outdoor bells. It’s encouraged to keep

an ear out in order to listen when the ringing commences for the 175th anniversary.

Anyone who has a child within the county sometime after 12:01 a.m. that day can expect to receive a gift basket, as well as be known as having the first county baby born for the 175th. In order to receive the gift basket, make sure to email the society using the one stated earlier.

Local post offices will also be participating by giving people a special postmark that will be handed out to those turning in mail to the office. The design was made by Wapakoneta 6th grader Ashtyn Kohler, and is available at the following locations; Cridersville, Minster, New Bremen, New Knoxville, St. Johns, St. Marys, Uniopolis, Wapakoneta and Waynesfield.

The festivities are planned to continue later this month, with the historical society planning on holding a gala at the Auglaize County Courthouse on Feb. 18, from 7 to 10 p.m. Tickets are $25 per person and are being sold at the St. Marys Chamber of Commerce, Wapakoneta Chamber of Commerce and the Southwester Auglaize County Chamber of Commerce at this time.

More events will be planned out for the year by the Auglaize County Historical Society and the Auglaize County 175th Anniversary Committee. The committee is made up of these members; Rachel Barber, Lori Bellman, Genevieve Conradi, Dennis Dicke, Luann Everett, Dennis Gaertner, Don Harrod, Jim Lee, Esther Leffel, Edee Marshall, Mary Mathews, Sharon Schnell, Jeanne Shaw, Marilyn Shaw, Lisa Watercutter and Charisse Zuppardo.

For more information about the gala or other events related to the anniversary, feel free to call Esther Leffel at 419-739-6718 or by checking out their Facebook page at