St. Marys, Minster baseball earn sectional byes and home games

The St. Marys baseball team earned the top seed in the area Division II district draw. The Roughriders, who are 15-4, will receive a first-round bye in the sectional before hosting the winner of the 10th-seeded Elida at fifth-seeded Lima Shawnee game on Thursday, May 15 at K.C. Geiger Park at 5 p.m. The winner advances to the district semifinal at Bluffton University on Thursday, May 22.

On the other side of the bracket, Wapakoneta received the second seed and got a bye. The Redskins will play the winner of Fostoria and Upper Sandusky on Thursday, May 15 at 5 p.m. in Wapakoneta. The winner of that game faces the winner of fourth-seeded Tiffing Columbian and seventh-seeded Celina on Thursday May 22 at Bluffton.

The district championship game is scheduled for Saturday, May 24 at 2 p.m. at Bluffton University.

This is the first season the Northwest District has offered the higher seeds a home game for the sectional tournament.

DIVISION III: Coldwater and St. Henry got the top two seeds, respectively, in the Division III draw for the Ada district. Coldwater gets the winner of Delphos Jefferson and Paulding on Thursday, May 15 at 5 p.m. St. Henry will play the winner of Van Wert and Riverdale on Thursday, May 15 at 5 p.m. at the Wally Post Athletic Complex.

DIVISION IV: Fort Recovery grabbed the top billing in the Division IV Coldwater district, while second-seeded Crestview, third-seeded Minster and fourth-seeded Marion Local all received byes.

Fort Recovery will host the winner of Delphos St. John’s and Lincolnview on Wednesday, May 14.

New Bremen will host Waynesfield-Goshen in a sectional semifinal on Saturday, May 10 at Noon. The winner plays Crestview in Convoy on Wednesday, May 14 at 5 p.m.

Minster will host the winner of Spencerville and Lima Temple Christian for a sectional title on Wednesday, May 14 at 5 p.m.

New Knoxville will travel to Lima Perry on Saturday, May 10 at noon for a sectional semifinal. The winner then travels to Marion Local on Wednesday, May 14 at 5 p.m. for a sectional title.

Winner advance to the Coldwater district on Wednesday, May 21 for 4:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. games.