HEY, I REMEMBER THAT!: A look back at local sports 10, 25 and 50 years ago

50 Years Ago This Week – 1962
In Tri-County League adult basketball play this week, tournament action got underway with New Knoxville and the Minster Knights of Columbus each picking up victories over Maria Stein and St. Henry, respectively.  New Knoxville opened up the semi-final matches at Marion Local with a 56-55 win over Maria Stein courtesy of a closing-seconds free throw by Wierwille.  Maria Stein attempted a pair of shots to win it immediately following, but they were unsuccessful.  In the second game, St. Henry was in charge by two points when the fourth quarter began, but the Knights held them scoreless for the entire final stanza before notching the 57-44 victory.  The tournament championship was set up a few nights later between Minster and New Knoxville, while St. Henry and Maria Stein engaged in the consolation battle the same evening.  

25 Years Ago This Week – 1987
With all local teams recently bounced from the post-season basketball tournaments, the Evening Leader sports team selected the 1986-87 Leaderland All-Star squads for the just-completed season.  Locals selected to the boy’s first team included junior Troy Crouch from St. Marys, along with Tim Dicke from New Bremen, Charlie Ernst from Minster, and Jeff Henschen from New Knoxville.  Crouch led all first team recipients in scoring with 17.4 points-per-game, while Dicke and Ernst hit for 15.9 and 14.8 points respectively.  Henschen rounded out the lineup with his 15.5 clip for the Rangers.  On the girl’s side of the awards, New Bremen and New Knoxville seniors Heidi Hoehne and Lisa Scheblo led the way with 11.8 and 12.7 points per contest, while St. Marys’ Kerri Goodwin and Minster’s Jody Hemmelgarn were also first-team choices who averaged 15.7 and 14.1 points per game for the season.  Second team honorees for the boys included St. Marys’ Mike Dietz, Minster’s Scott Larger, and New Bremen’s Cory Schroer, while New Knoxville’s Brian Lammers, New Bremen’s Jeff Paul, and St. Marys’ Jamie Youngs, all secured honorable mention accolades.  For the girls, it was St. Marys’ Mary Ann Burden, New Bremen’s Karen Heitkamp, New Knoxville’s Jenny Horstman, and Minster’s Leslie Moorman grabbing second team status, with New Knoxville’s Angie Arnett, St. Marys’ Paula Bobcek, New Knoxville’s Laura Merges, and New Bremen’s Ellen Ziegenbusch, all rounding out the list with honorable mentions.  

10 Years Ago This Week – 2002
Following their 64-51 defeat over Wapakoneta St. Joe the previous week, St. Marys Holy Rosary’s Catholic Youth Organization (CYO) basketball team advanced to the state tournament in Cleveland ten years ago this week.  Led by head coach Mike Mackenzie, it marked the first time in school history that the team moved on to the state level.  Members of the squad included J.R. Beckett, Ben Brown, Matt Brown, Matt Wilker, Joe Rammel, Matt Schlater, Brett Axe, Alex Mackenzie, Jason Brown, and Paul Rammel.