Fledderjohann named First Team All-WBL


St. Marys senior guard Garet Fledderjohann has been named First Team All-Western Buckeye League.

Fledderjohann, during the regular season averaged19.8 points per game, shot 40 percent from 3-point range and dished out 4.9 assists per game while becoming the third greatest scorer in Memorial High School history and passing the 1,000-point barrier. Fledderjohann currently has 1,088 points for his career — 102 points behind No. 2 on the list, Damon Goodwin, a University of Dayton standout, NBA draft pick and current Capital University head coach.

Elida’s Dakota Mathias was named the league’s Player of the Year, making it four straight seasons a player from Elida has been named the best player in the WBL. Reggie McAdams won it the three previous seasons.

Other first-teamers were Wapakonta’s Alex Greve, O-G’s T.J. Metzger, Defiance’s Trey Guilliam and Bath’s Taren Sullivan.

Second Team players were Bath’s Conner Rockhold, Celina’s Ryan Hoyng, Defiance’s Jordan Tobias, O-G’s Michael Rosebrock, Van Wert’s Joey Hurless and Wapakoneta’s Travis Bertram.

Third Team honorees were Bath’s Cole Chambers, Bath’s Logan Rockhold, Elida’s Aric Thompson, O-G’s Noah Bramlage and Van Wert’s A.J. Smith.

Special Mention players included St. Marys senior guard Austin James, who averaged 10.3 points per game and has hit a school-record 66 3-pointers this season.  Others were Bath’s Colin Gossard, Celina’s Matt Buschur, Defiance’s Katwan Singleton, Elida’s Louis Gray, Kenton’s Caleby Halsey, O-G’s Matthew Kaufman, Shawnee’s Jay Thomas and Wapakoneta’s Jake Buzzard.