CROSS COUNTRY: St. Marys has four Top 25 runners at WBL meet

OTTAWA — The St. Marys cross country teams had four top 25 finishers at Saturday’s Western Buckeye League meet at Memorial Park in Ottawa, as the boys finished fifth and the girls took sixth place at the league championships.

The St. Marys girls team had three finishers in the top 25 runners in the girls race.

Photos: Western Buckeye League Cross Country Meet

St. Marys junior Amanda Dues finished 14th with a 21:07 time for All-WBL honors.

Joining her were Hannah Tobin, a sophomore who finished 20th with a 21:40 time, and junior Lexi Grothause, who took 23rd with a 21:56 time.

St. Marys senior Nick Durkee was the boys’ top finisher in 15th place. Durkee crossed the finish line at the 17:07 mark to earn All-WBL honors.

Senior Alex Mielke finished 26th overall for the Roughriders with a 17:44 time.

The St. Marys girls finished sixth with 115 points.

St. Marys finishers included Rochelle Sudman was 26th for the Riders with a 22:10 time. Marissa Schrolucke took 32nd with a 22:28 pace. Christine Sullivan (38th, 22:43), Lindi Cisco (46th, 23:10), Erin Kinkley (51st, 23:24), Carol Saunders (25:29), Melanie Howell (25:55), Maddy Ginter (26:12), Jenny Briggs (27:38) and Alicia Fledderjohann (29:36) rounded out the Riders’ day.

Van Wert won the girls WBL title with 65 points. Defiance was second with 86 points and O-G was third with 94 points. Van Wert’s Andi Foster was the WBL individual champion with a 19:49 time.

The St. Marys boys team finished fifth with 136 points.

The Roughriders’ Matt Jutte finished 35th with an 18:13 time. John Meier was 36th with an 18:13 time. Kyle Oswalt took 50th with an 18:42 pace. Matt Schroyer (66th, 19:29), Luke Grieshop (88th, 20:30), Nick Kuck (93rd, 20:58), John Beane (21:16), Zack Goodwin (21:21),  Cal Fledderjohann (21:34), Dylan Brown (22:37), Zach Wilson (23:14) and Morgan Fenwick (24:38) rounded out the Riders’ times.

Defiance won the WBL crown with 32 points. Van Wert was second with 43 points, and Shawnee took third with 90 points.

Defiance’s Abel Flores won the WBL individual title with a winning time of 15:42.