Skip to main content

St. Marys lands a pair on 1st Team D3 All-District list

November 18, 2011

Austin Rupard (left) and D.J. Manning (right) celebrate a touchdown against Sidney in Week 1. Both were named to the first team of the Northwest Ohio All-District football list. (Staff Photo/John Zwez)

A pair of Roughrider football players were named to the Associated Press’ northwest Ohio all-district first teams in Division III.

St. Marys’ D.J. Manning, a senior tailback for the Roughriders was named first team all-district. Manning a 6-foot, 180-pound senior, rushed for a school-record 2,070 yards and 25 touchdowns for the Roughriders. He set single-game rushing records for yards in a game and carries in a game for St. Marys.

St. Marys senior center Austin Rupard, a 5-10, 240-pound senior, was named to the first team offense. Rupard led an all-senior offensive line that helped St. Marys rush for 276.9 yards per game and 29 rushing touchdowns.

St. Marys offensive tackle Steve Elshoff, a 6-2, 240-pound senior, was named second team all-district.

First Team

OFFENSE: Ends_Austin Etzler, Elida, 6-1, 190, sr.; Tyler Miller, Napoleon, 5-10, 170, sr.; Derek Hug, Bryan, 6-2, 202, sr. Linemen_Austin Rupard, St. Marys Memorial, 5-10, 240, sr.; Nate Irons, Bellevue, 6-2, 250, sr.; Alex Dority, Clyde, 6-1, 235, sr.; Ross Huber, Napoleon, 6-2, 198, sr. Backs_Brad Smith, Clyde, 5-8, 180, jr.; D.J. Manning, St. Marys Memorial, 6-1, 185, sr; Nick Lopez, Defiance, 5-7, 150, sr. Quarterback_Reggie McAdams, Elida, 6-6, 195, sr. Kicker_Nathan Jenkins, Elida, 5-11, 170, sr.

DEFENSE: Linemen_Tony Clark, Clyde, 5-9, 175, sr.; Luke Lyden, Bellevue, 6-4, 250, sr.; Chance Weitz, Elida, 6-1, 215, soph.; Kyle Wilson, Wauseon, 5-11, 200, sr. Linebackers_Thomas Glick, Clyde, 6-1, 225, jr.; Brendan Adkinson, Bellevue, 6-0, 190, sr.; Quentin Poling, Elida, 6-0, 205, jr.; Nate Walker, Napoleon, 5-8, 190, sr. Backs_Ryan Meyer, Clyde, 5-11, 195, sr.; Anthony Sumpter, Elida, 5-11, 195, jr.; Brandon Ponczak, Bryan, 6-1, 160, soph.. Punter_Seth Rosebauer, Lima Shawnee, 6-5, 235, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Reggie McAdams, Elida.

Defensive player of the year: Thomas Glick, Clyde.

Lineman of the year: Ross Huber, Napoleon.

Coach of the year: Ed Nasonti, Bellevue.

Second Team

OFFENSE: Ends_Jeremy Newby, Elida, 6-0, 200, sr.; Steve Wingo, Port Clinton, 6-1, 180, sr.; Brandon Stinson, Elida,6-23, 180, jr . Linemen_Ben Petersen, Port Clinton, 6-0, 280, jr.; Theron Carroll, Elida, 5-11, 215, sr.; William Madley, Lima Shawnee, 6-4, 240, sr.; Max Glassford, Defiance, 6-1, 200, sr.; Stevre Elshoff, St. Marys Memorial, 6-2, 240, sr. Backs_Sam Altenbach, Limsa Shawnee, 5-10, 175, sr.; Colin Blymer, Elida, 5-7, 165, sr. Quarterback_Jalen Santoro, Bellevue, 6-0, 155, jr. Kicker_Matt Chaney, Bryan, 5-9, 175, sr.

DEFENSE: Linemen_Michael Welch, Rossford, 5-11, 215, jr.; Ian Dukehart, Elida, 5-11, 185, sr. Linebackers_Bennett Brown, Clyde, 5-10, 245, jr.; Trey Runneals, Lima Shawnee, 6-0, 205, jr.; Skylar Anderson, Napoleon, 5-7, 178, sr.; Tanner Harper, Wauseon, 5-10, 182, sr. Backs_Andrew Baird, Shelby,. 5-10, 160, jr.; Keenan Newland, Lima Shawnee, 6-0, 195, sr.; Charlie Harris, Napoelon, 5-9, 160, jr. Punter_Alex Gies, Shelby, 6-1, 200, jr.

Honorable Mention

Winston Hupp, Bellevue; Adam Turner, Clyde; Dustin Patten, Clyde; Seth Stockmaster, Clyde; Michael Ebert, Sandusky Perkins; Mitchell Benkey, Sandusky Perkins; Will Lance, Shelby; Bryant Schlade, Napoleon; Jordan Myles, Napoleon; Adam Moose, Wauseon; Troy Lind, Wauseon; Kevin Russell, Elida; David Wurst, Lima Shawnee; Tyler Lundy, Lima Shawnee; Eli Tucker, Lima Shawnee; Zach Fielder, Napoleon; Nick Vidra, Rossford; Larry Sloan, Rossford; Cedric McNeal, Lima Shawnee; Kyle Robbins, Rossford; Collin Bacon, Bryan; Kyle Handley, Rossford.


View more articles in:
Celina head boys basketball coach Chris Bihn has resigned from the position after 125 wins in 10...
Saturday, April 18 WBL Baseball Bath at St. Henry (DH) Findlay at Celina Tiffin...
Baseball St. Marys 4, Kenton 0 St.Marys improved to 3-0 in the Western Buckeye League behind...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes