Skip to main content

Minster's Gusching NW District D6 Defensive POY, Moore COY

November 18, 2011

Minster linebacker Daniel Gusching was named Northwest District Division VI Defensive Player of the Year. Minster head coach Nate Moore was named Coach of the Year.

The Minster Wildcats took the top defensive and coaching awards in Division VI in northwest Ohio in the Associated Press’ all-district teams.

Minster senior outside linebacker Daniel Gusching was named Division VI’s Defensive Player of the Year. The 6-3, 217-pounder who moved from inside to outside linebacker during the season, terrorized quarterbacks all season long. Gusching has collected 79 tackles (45 solo tackles), 11 sacks and four tackles for loss through 12 weeks of the season. Gusching spearheads a defense that gives up 11.3 points per game and holds opposing rushing offense to 1.8 yards per carry.

Minster head coach Nate Moore was named Division VI Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to a 7-3 regular season and their second straight playoff appearance in his second season. Moore’s four playoff wins during the past two seasons are second-best in school history.

Minster 6-2, 200-pound offensive lineman Ryan Will was named first-team all-district for anchoring an offensive line that allowed the Wildcats to rush for 5.8 yards per carry this season.

Wildcat defensive lineman Rob Wente, along with Gusching, were first-team defense selections. Wente had 29 tackles — with eight of those sacks to go along with a tackle for a loss.

Minster 6-2, 207-pound senior offensive lineman Clay Bornhorst was a second-team selection.

New Bremen had a pair of honorable mention selections in receivers Troy Williams and Ben Chaney. Chaney had more than 900 yards receiving this season for the Cardinals.

First Team

OFFENSE: Ends_Jacob Ansley, Ada, 6-0, 190, jr.; Devin Mangas, Leipsic, 5-11, 170, jr.; Justin Herrnstein, New Washington Buckeye Central, 6-4, 185, sr.; Nathan Stark, Edgerton, 6-1, 154, sr. Linemen_Greg Hartke, Maria Stein Marion Local, 6-0, 210, sr.; Ryan Will, Minster, 6-2, 200, sr.; Alex Wehri, Delphos St. John's, 6-1, 230, sr.; Ross Benton, Leipsic, 6-1, 260, sr.; Brian Mohr, Arlington, 6-1, 243, sr.; Nathan Mathias, Tiffin Calvert, 6-0, 285, sr. Backs_Jake Heitkamp, Maria Stein Marion Local, 5-7, 190, sr.; Jerry Brown, McComb, 6-1, 180, jr.; Shannon Geren, Edon, 5-8, 180. sr.; Jimmy Radabaugh, Edgerton, 6-1, 168, sr. Quarterbacks_Konnor Baker, Ada, 6-3, 205, sr.; Tyler Erwin, New Washington Buckeye Central, 6-4, 200, sr. Kicker_Stephen Smith, Tiffin Calvert, 5-8, 155. jr.

DEFENSE: Linemen_Rob Wente, Minster, 6-2, 200, sr.; Greg Berger, Leipsic, 5-11, 220, sr.; Michael Jones, McComb, 5-9, 160, jr.; Bryce Collins, New Washington Buckeye Centrtal, 6-1, 290, sr.; Isaac Livengood, Norwalk St. Paul, 5-8, 215, sr. Linebackers_Daniel Gusching, Minster, 6-3, 217, sr.; Justin Rutschilling, Maria Stein Marion Local, 6-2, 200, sr.; Brett Schwinnen, Delphos St. John's, 6-0, 215, jr.; Chris Beaschler, Ada, 6-0, 205, sr.; Garrett Schling, Arcadia, 5-10, 215, sr.; Shawn Dankleson, Norwalk St. Paul, 5-10, 185, sr. Backs_Tanner Calvelage, Delphos St. John's, 6-1, 190, sr.; Tyler Harris, Cory-Rawson, 5-9, 150, jr.; Lucas Kennedy, Lakeside Danbury, 5-11, 185, sr.; Brody Flegal, Edgerton, 6-4, 166, sr. Punter_Tyler Hicks, Plymouth, 6-1, 210, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Tyler Erwin, New Washington Buckeye Central.

Defensive player of the year: Daniel Gusching, Minster.

Lineman of the year: Ross Benton, Leipsic.

Coach of the year: Nate Moore, Minster.

Second Team

OFFENSE: Ends_Derek Gaerke, Fort Recovery, 6-2, 170, sr.; Lee Pierron, Maria Stein Marion Local, 6-0, 150, sr.; Cory Schenk, Lakeside Danbury, 6-3, 180, sr.; Jordan Sessler, Fremont St. Joseph, 5-6, 150, jr. Linemen_Clay Bornhorst, Minster, 6-2, 207, sr.; Stephen Budwit, Ada, 6-1, 225, sr.; Josh Turnwald, Leipsic, 6-1, 260, sr.; Jerry Gibson, McComb, 5-9, 180, sr.; Alex Recker, Tiffin Calvert, 6-1, 255, sr.; Preston Knecht, Edgerton, 5-8, 158, sr.; Matt Cook, Edon, 6-1, 220, jr. Backs_Will Longthorne, Tol. Ottawa Hills, 5-11, 188, jr.; Kellen Decker, Ada, 5-10, 180, jr.; Dalton Ishmael, North Baltimore, 6-2, 190, jr.; Nick Swainhart, Lucas, 5-11, 190, jr. Quarterbacks_Zach Kuhlman, Leipsic, 6-2, 170, soph.; Josh Breece, Pandora-Gilboa, 6-3, 212, sr. Kicker_Lucas Huntley, Arcadia, 5-10, 165, sr.

DEFENSE: Linemen_Jack Homan, Maria Stein Marion Local, 6-2, 210, sr.; Jared Burger, Convoy Crestview, 5-10, 280, sr.; Thayne Recker, Arlington, 6-4, 218, sr.; Jake Michael, Edon, 6-0, 225, sr.; Dylan Nickels, Edgerton, 5-11, 267, sr. Linebackers_Kyle Neumeier, Delphos St. John's, 5-11, 195, sr.; Jake Leonard, Arlington, 6-1, 183, sr.; Adam Paynter, New Washington Buckeye Central, 5-11, 170, sr.; Zach Picou, North Robinson Colonel Crawford, 6-0, 185, sr.; Luke Stierwalt, Fremont St. Joseph, 6-1, 210, jr.; Jon Morter, Sycamore Mohawk, 6-0, 215, sr. Backs_Trevor Homan, Maria Stein Marion Local, 6-2, 195, sr.; Ryan Densel, Delphos St. John's, 5-9, 173, sr.; Nate Nuveman, Leipsic, 6-0, 150, sr.; Craig Miller, Plymouth, 5-8, 150, sr. Punter_Blaiz McBride, Arlington, 6-0, 165, jr.

Honorable Mention

Kenny Wenning, Ft. Recovery; Troy Williams, New Bremen; Kyle Stahl, St. Henry; Shawn Zaborski, Oregon Cardinal Stritch; Mack Schwamberger, Oregon Cardinal Stritch; Michael Blazevich, Oregon Cardinal Stritch; Isaac Barringer, Tol. Christian; Trevor Roop Crestview; Matt Holden, Crestview; C.J. Castle, Ridgemont; Tyler Tillman, Ridgemont; Brandon Overs, USV; Shaquille Douglas, Perry; Quis Woods, Perry; Jordan Bergfeld, Delphos St. John's; Cody Wilson, McComb; Austin Westenbarger, McComb; Trevor Schroeder, Leispic; Zach Miller, Fostoria St. Wendelin; Levi Hovest, Pandora-Gilboa; Johnathon Kloepfer, Vanlue; Trevor Colman, Arcadia; Levi Myers, Plymouth; Brandon Green, St. Mary Central Cath.; John Burrow, Monroeville; Zach Miller, Fostoria St. Wendelin; Travis Baird, Sycamore Mohawk; Nathan Weinandy, Sycamore Mohawk; Joe Brickner, Tiffin Calvert; Mat Buchman, Tiffin Calvert; Nathan Ritzler, Tiffin Calvert; D.J. Hagerman, Defiance Ayersville; Justin Flory, Defiance Ayersville; Nick Milgrim, Plymouth; Cruz Stepp, Lucas; Aric Shock, Sycamore Mohawk; Jared Crampton, West Unity Hilltop; Bryce Biglin, Crestline; Aaron Vagedes, Fort Recovery; Ben Chaney, New Bremen; Gabe Hennon, Waynesfield Goshen; Jason Pottkotter, Fort Recovery; Zack Yeckley, Fremont St. Joseph; Keegan Long, Edon; Michael Geiger, Tol. Ottawa Hills; Adam Stuckert, North Robinson Colonel Crawford; Justin Feeman, Crestline; Marcus Somers, Tiffin Calvert; Ron Jarvis, Waynesfield-Goshen; MacLain Dyer, Upper Scioto Valley; Levi Harris, Lucas; Dan Kwiat, Tiffin Calvert; Jacob Adams, Edgerton; Ryan Aelker, Holgate.


View more articles in:
Celina head boys basketball coach Chris Bihn has resigned from the position after 125 wins in 10...
Saturday, April 18 WBL Baseball Bath at St. Henry (DH) Findlay at Celina Tiffin...
Baseball St. Marys 4, Kenton 0 St.Marys improved to 3-0 in the Western Buckeye League behind...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes